Skip to content

Learning Party { p h o t o s }

April 12, 2009

The first Learning Party was a success! Even with a projector failure the night before, we pulled it off! The lovely ladies who joined us a few Saturdays ago couldn’t have been better! I had 3 of my past brides in attendance, new friends and old friends, ladies of all ages and skill sets. It was a great day. I forgot how much I truly love teaching!! The food from Papa Joe’s couldn’t have been better. If you live in the Westminster area you have to check them out! My sister grabbed a few shots of the day and I will post the headshots here (ladies – a higher res version will come to you in email). All the images shot that day will be combined into a learning party group on flickr too.

So when is the next one? I’m glad you asked!

April 24 5-11pm

click here for more info

Here is what some of the girls had to say:

I always, always shot on automatic. I had no idea what the settings on my camera dial were for and never bothered reading my manual. I actually plan on sitting down with my manual and scanning it with my camera in hand to learn more. The knowledge I gained at the workshop has made me hungry to learn more and I only have a point and shoot camera. I‘m still not confident in shooting in manual mode, but maybe that will come with time. I used my camera the rest of the weekend at a birthday party & later visiting our friends new baby & I did NOT shoot once in automatic. Im going to get better with time and I can’t thank you enough!

-Annette

Kim is not only a great photographer, but she is also a great teacher! She has a way of explaing things that is easy to understand and really sinks in. I love the fact that nothing is a stupid question and she really wants everyone to learn. Her Learning Party was a lot of fun and it was like hanging out with your friend! Anyone interested in taking better pictures of their kids should definitely attend!

-Sara

I feel so much more confident with my camera now that I have attended Kimberly’s learning party! I am now venturing to ‘manual’ mode more often and although I don’t get all the shots, it’s really fun to start to learn how to put it all together! A wonderful, casual atmosphere where I didn’t feel afraid to ask or embarrassed for my mistakes behind the lens! I can’t wait to attend a part 2!!!

-Beth

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    April 12, 2009 9:23 pm

    I am bummed I missed all the fun. I am glad it went so well! Gorgeous pictures and it looks like an excellent place to learn.

  2. April 13, 2009 1:59 am

    looks awesome!!! glad you had fun too 🙂

  3. April 13, 2009 9:17 am

    Kim, you rock!

  4. robin permalink
    April 15, 2009 10:59 am

    looks like the ladies learned so much & had a great time! please do let me know if you ever plan on coming out here to california. would LOVE to host & participate in one of your teaching sessions — very cool!

    also, maybe you can create a podcast or video of the next one? i would totally pay to watch it.

    • April 15, 2009 11:27 am

      WOW – I was just talking about this when your comment came in. Hmmm… little 30 min or 60 min webisodes sold separately, that way you could pick and choose or even go at your own pace and have them to view anytime…

Leave a Reply

