Skip to content

What you can learn from a wind storm or How to avoid burnout

November 17, 2008

Upcoming blog posts:

Sometimes I wonder if the pace of life will ever slow down. I look at my boys and realized they are HUGE and growing so fast… I just don’t want to miss it for the pursuit of photography. Don’t worry, no big announcements of closing my doors or anything like that… just a bit of restructuring.

I am listening to a huge cold front coming in. The wind is ratting our 100 year old windows and I can hear the bristling of leaves whipping around and falling to the ground. It has give me a perfect picture of where I am right now. Change is blowin’ in, baby! For the past 7 years I have prided myself on being a one-woman-shop. I loved doing EVERYTHING involved in my business. But now that my family life looks different, I realized that lately some of that EVERYTHING was no longer a joy and that I was never truly good at it anyway. Plus, a healthy dose of admission that I have some control freak tendencies has truly freed me to make some changes.

My sister Rebecca has already been editing for Kimberly Brooke Photography. She may have edited your portraits or built your lovely Brag Book or Signature Book. I am so grateful for her eye and ability to objectively approach images that I have shot. She has been an immense help in picking the best of the best to display for my clients. While I love editing, I don’t love the time it requires or the burden I feel when I am the holdup for a client, so that is one thing I can finally check off my list with full trust in her talents.

Editing – check. What I needed next was someone to help with my books. Oh, how my account loves me 🙂 I am the worst client ever!!! My good friend Kari brought me up to speed and sorted through my Quickbooks. I have no love for accounting or numbers or any of that business stuff… but OOPS – I need these things in order so I can sleep at night!

For a long time I have dreamed of having an assistant. Not just someone to hold a light or carry gear – I mean a true assistant who believes in what I am doing and wants to see this business grow and prosper as much as I do. I have had that in Pete for a long time. He has always been a huge supporter of my photography. He has hauled equipment, second shot for me, held lights and reflectors and renovated a studio for me! But, he is in full time ministry and his roles at church are changing. We haven’t been able to be involved in each others “stuff” as closely as before. So, after 2 years of him not being my sidekick, I have really started to long for someone to fill that void…

One day as we were driving someplace, Pete and I were talking specifically about this new place we are in. I don’t do youth or young adults ministry with him anymore because I don’t want to be out any more from the boys than I have to. He doesn’t shoot weddings, assist on portraits or go to fun networking events like he used to for the same reasons. I said, “I just need to find the perfect… the perfect client concierge.”

We sat in silence for a moment and he said, “Let’s pray right now that God would reveal who that is.” So he did. And God did. A moment later Pete dropped a name. A name that fell out of the sky and made me so giddy I couldn’t stand it! She was perfect! We had to get started right away.

So this is the point where I am supposed to introduce her, but I can’t just yet. I want to grab some awesome shots of her to post along with a little blurb about her so you can get to know her a bit. She is going to be the business brain to Kimberly Brooke Photography so I can still run around with me face behind a camera a bit longer without burning out. Fun things are in store so stay tuned.

-Kim

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    November 16, 2008 3:24 pm

    This sounds very thought through! I am excited for you and your new changes. I am looking forward to the reveal. xoxo, Lisa

  2. November 17, 2008 6:23 pm

    I’m jealous. Good for you for giving up all the control–and stress–that this job brings. I’m proud of you!
    Hopefully, I can follow in your footsteps one day.

  3. November 18, 2008 9:07 am

    Its awesome that you are expanding your biz! And if you ever need an extra hand from a total beginner let me know and I will come and help/observe you work.

  4. Kelly permalink
    November 24, 2008 4:56 pm

    Kim- I can’t thank you and Pete enough for everything you’ve done for me, especially the kind words you left in this blog. Here’s to an amazing boss (that’s you), the future, a new friendship, and most importantly, the Lord for making it all happen! : )

Leave a Reply

