Skip to content

Infant Remembrance Photography

September 30, 2008

As a wedding photographer, I am normally asked to cover people’s happiest days. That changed the day I was asked to photograph a little one who was expected to pass away shortly after birth. The experience left me feeling inadequate as a photographer trying to capture the last pieces of a memory for a family. It was wonderful and horrible at the same time. I was so blessed to be able to serve this family, and yet I know so many families don’t have this opportunity.

That was April of 2003. Today I am a member of Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep.

I have not shot another session like that in 5 years. To be honest, now that I am a mom myself, I think it will be incredibly difficult to do, but I am honored to be a part of the organization and am available for Carroll County Hospital Center and Frederick area hostpitals. My good friend Kathy Freundel is the Area Coordinator for our hospital and has a write up on her blog that is worth reading right now. If you know of anyone who might be in need of this free service, contact Kathy or the nurses at the Family Birthplace.

My other friend Julia MacInnis was just featured in the Washington Post (check out the article) for her work with NILMDTS.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    September 30, 2008 2:01 pm

    This is such a precious gift that you participate in. I cannot imagine how difficult this would be for you and of course for each family!

  2. Julia permalink
    October 1, 2008 2:01 pm

    thanks for blogging about this. Anything to raise awareness!

  3. January 8, 2009 2:44 am

    I have just signed up as a volunteer for NILMDTS. I held my friends baby just hours after he passed away 8 years ago and everyone was so deep in grief no one thought of taking his picture. I can still see him so clearly in my mind, so beautiful and so perfect. I have 2 children and i could not imagine the agongy of losing them. Whilst i know this will be a difficult service, it will be rewarding to know i service families who need precious memories of those treasured moments.

Leave a Reply

