Skip to content

Post #101

July 28, 2008

This is my 101st post on this blog. Technically it is not the 101st, because this is the third evolution of this blog, but in this form it is 101! Yay! So I have been thinking about what I wanted to blog about for this little milestone post. I thought of making a cute 101 list about things I love or things I have seen over the years or things I’d like to do. But tonight I came across something that blew me away. Something that has my heart stirring and my spirits lifted.

Just a few days ago we got a call from a former youth group girl that another kid from her class had been in a serious accident and was in shock trauma. Pete gets calls like this 2-3 times a year. They are horrible calls. But this time was different. It was Ben.

Ben had been involved in our group a couple years ago when he was in high school. He came weekly, brought his older brother, came on camping trips and ski trips. He was hilarious; the kind of guy that kept everyone laughing and was friends with every “type” of kid in high school. We knew his parents. They knew us. He was a great kid.

Pete was with his parents and sister when the doctors told them Ben was gone. They would keep him on life support for his brother Jason to return from active duty in Kuwait to say goodbye. Pete has been with them a lot over the past few days and spirits around here have been heavy. I can’t imagine losing a child. I can’t imagine burying one of my sons. I am grieving for their family. I am sad for Ben’s friends. Pete has been having a hard time with this one because it is much closer to home. But tomorrow he will offer hope. He will share the good news at his celebration service. He is going to point his face toward God and tell them about Jesus.

I don’t know where you stand with God. I don’t like the scare tactics and “what if you died tonight” propositions to salvation. I think it is much more than that. I think it is beyond what we can imagine. I think for some, coming to Jesus it is a hard road, while for others it seems easy.

I can think of 101 reasons I could give up on this life. I could think of a 101 reasons why death sucks. But I know death was never in His original plan. Eden was perfect and life was forever. Sin brought death, and the earth has been groaning under that weight ever since. I can list 101 reasons why people could hate God for the state we are in now. I can also list 101 reasons why I put myself in that state. And yet there is 1 reason that changes everything. 1 long intricate glorious true story of a Father chasing after His wayward children at the cost of His own Son. I have more that 101 reasons to be thankful. I have more that 101 reasons to close my eyes, smile and know that I have been redeemed.

What blew me away tonight was a song. A song of worship, written by a man who just hours before had been given the news that he had terminal cancer. This song is amazing. In the midst of pain and suffering, Jesus is our healer. Tonight I did not need healing from cancer or a serious ailment, but I needed a reminder that I know the One who can heal those who do. I needed a reminder that I know the One who can heal broken hearts and broken lives. My heart is heavy and sad, but I know that My Healer is more than enough for me. I hope you are blessed by it as I was.

http://healer.integritymusic.com for more on this song

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Freundel permalink
    July 28, 2008 8:25 am

    This post is simply humbling, and so beautifully expressed. Working alongside you has been such an honor for you are the sweet aroma that draws those around you to Christ. God is so good that he would give me such a sister. We are praying for your family and Ben’s today.

  2. August 16, 2008 2:31 pm

    Kim, thank you so much for that post. I needed that reminder that we serve a God who has chosen to enter into our hurting hearts and walk with us. I wish I’d gotten to know you better at Love Affair; but I can’t wait for Vegas!!

  3. August 16, 2008 10:08 pm

    Caroline

    yes – Vegas is going to be so amazing. Thanks for the comment. I love love love that song.

Trackbacks

  1. Beth & Brycen. Married. « kathy freundel

Leave a Reply

