Skip to content

Tyler the Lightning Rod Assistant

July 15, 2008

So what do you do when a high school graduate wants to learn photography before going off to college – and will work for free? You shoot him. I’ve know Tyler almost all of his life and he has recently developed and interest in photography. I took him with me on Sunday to act as a grip essentially with lighting for a band shoot and a family shoot, and I grabbed some fun shots of him in the meantime.

The first shot just kills me. We were with the band under all these power lines near some RR tracks and the storm clouds were rolling in. My sister called me and said the downpour was coming. We were pressing it because we liked the look of the clouds and wanted to stay out as long as possible. My camera and light were definitely getting wet, but all of a sudden a HUGE crack of lighting happened over head with super piercing thunder that made us all run instantly to our cars. Yes – 4 grown men, myself and Tyler, running and screaming to our cars through brush and industrial debris trying not to trip in slippery flip flops. Behind me I can hear Tyler saying, “Anyone else want to hold this metal stick in this rain?” So I turned back and snapped that last shot of him. In my mind the next frame would have been his X-RAY skeleton showing through with a lightning bolt to the light stand. And all this for free 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    July 15, 2008 7:34 pm

    LOVE THIS! He looks so cool. You nailed your studio lighting, girl! (I am SO glad you did not post my test shots as your model…lol) But seriously, backdrop lighting…brilliant!

  2. July 16, 2008 2:40 pm

    Oh man now I wanna see the test shots of Rebecca, lol! Good stuff Kim =)

  3. July 17, 2008 3:29 pm

    That first shot is way funny. He’s a great model!

  4. kimberlybrooke permalink*
    July 17, 2008 3:31 pm

    my sister and i told him he could make bank modeling. he said he was too straight. but i really think he has the look agencies are going for. i will convince him before he leaves for school!

  5. August 20, 2008 5:03 pm

    Cool lighting effects!!

Trackbacks

  1. Shooting a Local Celebrity « exposed

Leave a Reply

