Skip to content

Rain Jar

May 19, 2008

Did it rain on your wedding day? It did on mine. I was about in tears on the way to the outdoor ceremony. But it cleared up in time to do it outside (paved area) so it worked out. But I wish I had thought of the Rain Jar before then! A few years later I shot a wedding for a couple where it poured all morning. I happened to have a mason jar in my car (don’t ask) and so I put it out by my tire in the parking lot and caught rain all morning. I later gave it to them. They loved it!

Then I thought, this is a cool gift. What seems like an inconvenience can be cherished forever! So I made my first rain jar. I wrote a little poem, put it on a tag with ribbon and used one of my little square glass bottles with a cork. I waited for a rainy wedding. I seriously was excited to be able to give this to one of my clients! But although I have seen a lot of rainy weekends, none were enough to rain out a wedding.

But friends Kyle and Megan were married on May 10, 2008 and it rained all week and all morning! I was so worried that their outdoor ceremony would be nixed. But God provided! I can’t wait to upload the photos of the amazing blue sky and sun on Megan’s dress! But I still gave them the rain jar. She cried. How cool is that!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 6:44 pm

    That has to be one of most thoughtful AND resourceful ideas yet! 🙂 Nice one Kim!

  2. Lisa permalink
    May 19, 2008 8:54 pm

    You are so stinkin’ creative… Fabulous idea and I love the poem too!! ~ Lisa

  3. May 20, 2008 9:19 pm

    Love it…great idea!

  4. Tara permalink
    May 21, 2008 4:39 pm

    Wow! I would have cried. What a beautiful and thoughtful gift.

  5. Lisa Erdman permalink
    September 6, 2008 1:55 pm

    so my friend is getting married today & gustav rain is POURING on her day…I’m hoping it’s ok, but I’m rippin’ the idea off (I’ll totally give you credit). my friend is just so bummed that it’s raining, actually downpouring, on her day…and I know this would bless her in a HUGE way. i hope you don’t mind…

    PS. i’m 17 wks prego again! we need to set up another maternity shoot (i’d love to do something in the fall outside??) & i’d love to have Nathan (14.5 months) & Shaun do some pics with me….I’ll email you directly. just thought i’d let you know.

Leave a Reply

