Skip to content

Drew & Tara { e n g a g e d }

May 9, 2008

Drew and Tara are such a fun couple. They only live a few minutes away from me and turns out we know mutual people. Tara has even been Pete’s waitress in the mornings when he is mentoring a student for breakfast. Small world! I had a blast with them on their engagement session because we really made a point to customize it to them. Lately a few of you have asked how I know about some of the details about my couples. Well, first, I ask. I like conversation, I like knowing their story. Even the first time I meet them I ask about how they met, how he proposed, etc. It is not just about wedding details and what photos they want on their wedding day. It is about knowing who they are so you can capture that spirit. To get them “talking” a little more, I have my couples fill out an online survey. I have serious questions and silly questions, but trust me – every survey is so unique that I get a good feel for some fun things we can do on the shoot. They have fun filling it out, I have fun translating it into a shoot and we get a session like this…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Beck permalink
    May 9, 2008 2:07 pm

    Ring in the bible shot casting a heart shadow – are you kidding me? Brilliance!!!

  2. May 9, 2008 2:49 pm

    Love your creativity on these, Kim!

  3. Lisa permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:41 pm

    I thought the same things beck!! Excellent shot!

  4. May 9, 2008 6:31 pm

    What a great “story-shoot” Kim! The Forsythia shot rocked!

  5. Tara permalink
    May 9, 2008 7:45 pm

    Kim!! I can’t believe you remember our story so well (: It’s so sad we have to wait to work with you again until 2009, but hopefully that won’t be the last time. You have such a gift and you use it magnificently! We LOVE you and your work. Simply phenomenal.

Trackbacks

  1. Headed to the OBX, Vendor Interview, & more « exposed – Kimberly Brooke Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

