Skip to content

Vendor Interview: Evan Reitmeyer of MyDeejay.com

March 20, 2008

I am excited to be doing some vendor interviews over the next few weeks. I get asked all the time by couples who is the best in this industry. I love giving referrals, but thought it would be fun for you to get to know some of my vendor friends through my blog. So here is our first interview. I met Evan a few years ago at a wedding at the Chesapeake Bay Beach Club. We’ve worked together several times since then and I love referring Evan because he is such a classy DJ. On to the interview!

-Kim

Evan of MyDeejay.com

How did you get started in the wedding business?

It was kind of an accident – I had DJed a little with one of my friends in high school, and when I left college I got a job doing some IT consulting with a big DJ agency. After a few weeks they approached me about possibly becoming a DJ for them and I did a few parties and was hooked… I found that I really had a knack for weddings because they require a wide range of music and good microphone skills, which I already had coming in.

What do you do when you are not making weddings rock?

This is my full-time job, and weddings are all I do… Outside of working, I try to spend as much time as possible with my wife Jennifer and our beautiful little boy, Colin.

How do you approach the wedding?

I’m definitely not an “entertainer” by any means… I don’t pass out funny hats or inflatable instruments or anything cheesy. I see my role as being a facilitator – I’m there to provide top-notch announcements, great music, and to make sure that everyone has a great time.

What inspires you?

I LOVE working with couples who are really passionate about music. I’ve done over 700 weddings and I’ve seen everything there is to see, so I really get a kick out of working with people who are looking to do something “different” musically. I end up doing quite a few multicultural weddings every year, which are great – I love the challenge of bringing the two sides of the family together on the dance floor.

What do you think sets you apart from other DJs?

Wow, that’s a loaded question! I would have to say that it’s the amount of time and care I put into each and every wedding. I demand a perfect performance from myself and from all of the DJs who work for me, and that takes a lot of preparation and forethought.

How do you feel about silly hats and props at a reception? (ha ha)

If I was interested in that sort of thing, I’d be doing bar mitzvahs… It’s just not something I’m comfortable with at all.

Your favorite father daughter song right now:

“Daddy’s Little Girl” by Michael Bolton… just kidding! I do actually like it better than the classic Al Martino version, but I’d have to say that “Father and Daughter” by Paul Simon is my favorite.

Your favorite first or last dance song right now:

“Into the Mystic” by Van Morrison… great last dance.

Your least favorite song that gets requested at weddings:

I only get to pick one? I’d have to say “Crank That” by Soulja Boy. It’s number 8 in my top 10 worst songs of all time.

What website or blog do you frequent often?

I use Co-Op America’s website (www.coopamerica.org) almost every day for something. I try to make an environmentally responsible decision on everything that I purchase for my business or my home.

What do you love about weddings?

I love the creative challenge, and I love the pressure to be perfect. The music is so incredibly important to the overall success of each wedding, and I really thrive on that. There is nothing more satisfying than a bride and groom thanking me for doing an awesome job at the end of the night.

What do you hate about weddings?

I wouldn’t say that there is anything that I hate about all weddings, but there are things that tick me off when they happen. The worst is when I’m working with a caterer that doesn’t know what they’re doing, or that gets really behind in dinner service. I had a wedding once with 225 guests and dinner took 2 hours and 15 minutes for three courses. It left me with a little over an hour to work with the crowd on the dance floor. I kept the energy high and everyone had a great time, but I really felt bad for the bride and groom that they basically lost over an hour of dance time because of slow service.

What is the coolest first dance you have seen?

I had a bride and groom do a tango for their first dance and they had been practicing for months… they were REALLY good and their guests were blown away. I also had a bride that did a face plant during their first dance, but we don’t need to talk about that.

What are you reading right now?

My current book is “Elementary Particles and the Laws of Physics” by Richard Feynman and Steven Weinberg. I bet you didn’t know that your local wedding DJ is also into quantum mechanics, did you?

What are you listening to right now?

“Us and Them” by Pink Floyd

What would you do with $1 million dollars?

Take a few grand and go a nice vacation with my wife, and use the rest to start a trust fund for our son.

One goal you have for 2008:

To have the best year ever! That’s not too ambitious, is it?

Open mic, final thoughts:

I just have to say that I love doing weddings with you, Kim. Brides always love you, your work is fantastic, and you do an awesome job of working in partnership with me and the other vendors. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

