Skip to content

Love Affair

February 29, 2008

Some of you know that I am here in Bald Head Island, NC with 40 other female photographers. I have been pumped about this week since August. I completely miss my 3 men, but this is a blast. We have had fun shooting and I thought I would post a few shots. Enjoy.

-Kim

Beach House

The houses here are great. This beach feels like it should be off the coast of Maine, not NC. Very peaceful. Only the sound of the ocean and wind. the occasional golf cart honk from on of the girls from Love Affair, but that is about it.

Ocean

The beach has a crazy drop off right before the water.

Lifesaver

Lighthouse

Marsh

Kelly

This is Kelly of Kelly Holder Photography . She is a roommate here and we were playing with overpowering the sun with flash.

Jackie

This is Jackie of Jackie Blair Photography – another housemate. This is an example of painting with light.

Lindsey

Backlit

I took my flash with me on this shoot and got some fun backlighting in this old summer kitchen.

Couple Flair

Gotta love flash flare 🙂

Erica Window

Now, this is Erica – an incredible makeup artist. She looks just like Milla Jovovich to me from Fifthe Element.

Erica

There are a few things I tried to focus on this week while here with an opportunity to shoot. One of them was shooting without looking. So I just held the camera up and shot. I went with my instinct and got it! Yay!

 

Erica Flair

I love the flare from flash. this is almost straight out of camera, a little sharpening and a bump on contrast.

Shoes

Boat

Marantz

Justin and Mary Marantz of Imagine Imaging came to model for us. They were amazing on camera. I made the mistake of saying, “Oh, alligators.” Not meaning that I had seen any, but that we were about to jump down into the marsh where they could potentially be. Mary shot me a look of pure fear and complete surprise. I said, “It’s ok, they only like dark meat.” So she laughed. I don’t think she thought about it the whole time… considering she was freezing!

Marantz

Marantz 3

And tonight we were able to play outside. I took the two of them off for a moment to play with flash. Unfortunately, they both moved a bit in this shot – a shiver, perhaps? Regardless, We had fun, and a few moments later I was able to show the whole crew how to do it. I know everyone loved the technique and hopefully they will be doing it more often! I call it the bling shot!

The week has been great fun and most of all, I am excited about new friendships formed with other female photographers! Tomorrow I get my own photo taken with Miss Davina Fear! Of course I got a cold sore… what else is new??? But gotta love Photoshop for that.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Freundel permalink
    February 29, 2008 12:49 pm

    Kim . . . I have been praying for you all week, and was hoping that you’d post some photos. They are AMAZING. I especially LOVE the one when you shot without looking . . . that photo is so great! All of your photos are glorious, and your new logo ROCKS as a watermark. I hope that you are encouraged, inspired and completely full to overflowing, and that your enthusiasm is contagious when you get home. Love you and can’t wait to catch up with you face to face. You have such a gift, Kim. I love to see you so excited.

  2. Robin permalink
    February 29, 2008 8:01 pm

    What fun, artistic & edgy shots! These are amazing, Kim!!! Beautiful work (as always). I too love your new watermark. Perfect!

  3. Becky permalink
    March 1, 2008 3:13 am

    You are marvelous! Your work has broadened so much in just one week. You make it look effortless. I am so proud of you…you are my inspiration to become better at all I do! xoxo

  4. March 2, 2008 11:18 pm

    Hey Kim! Your pics look great…but they are super dark on my laptop compared to everything else I usually see. Calibration sucks. Anyway…..Can you post the other painting pic in the sassy shoes?! =)

  5. March 3, 2008 9:51 pm

    Hey Kim,
    Hope you made it home safely. It was so nice meeting you this past week at the workshop. Keep in touch
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

