Skip to content

Speaking of logos…

February 19, 2008

I started this photography business in 2001. The same year we got married. And in my rush to get a site up, I threw together a quick logo and have been using it ever since. I like it. But every year I go through the question of should I change it? Should I toss it and move on? I feel like so many photographers have a similar logo – name in script over the word photography in serif font. Really, pay attention. So many do! AND my font is Scriptina (everyone got a little Scriptina happy that year) and the serif is Felix Titling.

While this has worked for me for the past 7 years, I’ve got the 7 year itch! SOOO, I found Erika Jones. On flickr. We have never met, but certainly connected over the phone and email. She is great and I feel like she has really created something great for my Kimberly Brooke logo. I have been sitting on this for a few months, getting feedback here and there, but I decided to post it here and see what the response is. Just because she has worked on this logo for me doesn’t mean I am going to scrap the old and move to this, BUT I wanted to get feedback if I should do that or not.

For reference, old logo:

Kimberly Brooke Photography Logo Black
Here is what Erika created:
Kimberly Brooke Photography Logo New Erika Brown
Kimberly Brooke Photography Logo New Kim’s Modificaiton
The above is my modificaiton to one she had sent me earlier.
You can see in her final above that the swirls are going in different directions from this one. So I need to pop out a version like that too.
Thoughts? Comments?
-Kim
13 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly $$ permalink
    February 19, 2008 9:29 pm

    I like both of them. They actually remind me of the chariot Cinderella took to the ball!!

  2. Ann permalink
    February 19, 2008 11:04 pm

    I like #3.

  3. Lisa permalink
    February 20, 2008 12:55 am

    I definately love the last one! It is just perfect! I do like the swirl going the other direction as well as you commented! Would you use it as a watetrmark on your copyrighted pictures?

  4. February 20, 2008 11:10 am

    I like the middle one the best. And I keep forgetting to email you, but I definitely interested in your new project – as you can see from my blog, I need help in the photographing the kids department!

  5. February 20, 2008 11:15 am

    The last one, definitely! Its awesome.

  6. Leah permalink
    February 20, 2008 2:08 pm

    I love the last one!

  7. Kathy Freundel permalink
    February 20, 2008 7:15 pm

    I like your modification the best, Kim. But, with the one Erika did, you could use just the K in the circle on your packaging or on the back of your books, etc. So, there may be an advantage to having the “K” separate from the rest of your logo. You do really good work!

  8. Robin permalink
    February 20, 2008 10:21 pm

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the new logo! Ditto what Kathy recommends — the K alone would be beautiful on packaging, a small logo on your blog pics, etc. Very nice!!!

  9. Stevie permalink
    February 24, 2008 4:19 pm

    I really like the bottom logo ….it’s very classy and can feel either vintage or contemporary…I’m a fan!

  10. Julie Sanz permalink
    February 24, 2008 11:05 pm

    I love the last one with the swirls going the other way. You definitely “pop out” in a field of photographers! 🙂

  11. Tina permalink
    February 25, 2008 10:05 am

    Love the new logo. It is eye catching and pleasing.

  12. February 17, 2009 4:53 am

    Mrs Brooke, Though having discovered your site by fluke I willingly admit to having perused nearly every page, and done so with pleasure for The Lord has truly blessed you captivating talents.

    Regarding the logo I feel that Erika’s version is best as it does not interfere/detract from your name. Her design gives you versatility in separating emblem and name for multiple uses.

    In closing I thank you for sharing bits of your work with the public.

    May your personal and professional success long continue.

    • February 20, 2009 8:23 pm

      Thanks Colleen. I actually made a new logo that is a bit simpler, although I am hanging onto that one for personal use. The new logo also has meaning for me. the dove symbolizes the Holy Spirit – a reminder to me that I need to live by the Spirit. The swirls inside represent water – Living Water – that which lasts forever and only comes from Jesus. So really it is a reminder mostly to me to put Him first in my life and business, but also sparks interesting conversation with clients.

Leave a Reply

