Skip to content

What I was going to blog about on Thursday…

October 12, 2007

Amazing that I already missed a day! Anyway, Wednesday night around 7pm there was a knock on my front door. All of our friends use the back door, so I had no idea what to expect. When I opened the door, a high school aged guy was standing there with a messenger bag full of papers and an outstretched arm with The Baltimore Sun. He spoke fast and got me to stand an listen to his pitch. He had caught me on the right day and I was the right house for him. He said he was selling subscriptions because he wanted to become a photographer and go to MICA in Baltimore. The Sun would give him credits towards savings bonds to apply to school. I have no interest in the paper. I read all my news online and feel the physical paper is a waste of ink and just filling landfills. So I told him what I did and that I would make him a deal. I said I didn’t want the paper but I had a little cash in my wallet and I would give it to him if he promised to apply it to school. I gave him my card and told him to email me when he got in to MICA and let me know how he was doing. We talked a bit more about photography and then he was off.

I have no idea if he’ll use the money towards pizza or school, but at least I responded to what my heart was saying, which was be generous. There are enough dream stealers in this world… why not give him one more little reason to pursue his dream. Anyway – when he’s big and famous one day, I can say I helped fund his education 🙂

Romans 12:8 says …if you’re called to give aid to people in distress, keep your eyes open and be quick to respond;… (The Message)

-Kim

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

