Skip to content

Vendor Interview: Mike Eller of Monachetti

April 3, 2008

First of all, these vendor interviews have been fun, and it all started with Mike. I was going to do an interview on him a few months ago when he launched his new website for his company, but alas, I did not get to it in time. I have know Mike all of his life. Really. We grew up together. He is an incredible artist and is completely different than all other video vendors out there. He isn’t going to do cheesy fades, he doesn’t do the typical wedding video. Expect a movie experience from your video. Mike’s background is in shooting independent films and full scale music videos, so those influences abound in his wedding work. I love his stuff. Check out his work at www.monachetti.com

-Kim

Mike EllerĀ 

MikeĀ Eller
How did you get started in the wedding business?

A friend of mine was getting married and she asked me if I would shoot her wedding: I said yes, and I have been doing it ever since.

What do you do when you are not shooting weddings?

Editing and filming corporate videos, pursuing acting, and hanging out with friends.

How do you approach the shooting the wedding day?

I try my best to visualize interesting shots in my head before and as I arrive on the location. I like everything to look and feel candid, so I try my best to film from those perspectives. I like remaining in the background of all the activity, I think it helps give the video a better feel.

What are your influences?

I love watching films that are shot with care and attention to detail and composition. I would have to say my influences come from those moments in the everyday films we go to see.

What inspires you?

Jesus Christ

What do you think sets you apart from other wedding videographers?

I would have to say that the story elements, style and quality of my wedding videos make them different. A lot of work is done in post production to maximize the quality of every shot, and of every video. A lot of attention is also put on making every video feel different and original. We want every client to feel they have something so unique and artistic, that they can’t compare it to any video we’ve ever done, or any video they have ever seen.

3 4 things you must have on every shoot:

  1. Camera
  2. Tapes
  3. Batteries
  4. WATER!

What do you wish you could tell brides about wedding videos BEFORE the wedding day?

I wish I could tell them that a wedding video is just as important as any other medium they are using to remember their wedding day by. I wish I could tell them that having a wedding video is important because it pulls on your emotions from that day like nothing else. Being able to watch your day, as a story, as many times as you want for the rest of your life, is irreplaceable. Something the generation before this wishes they could have. Something they should take advantage of.

What website or blog do you frequent often?

Currently, facebook.

What do you love about weddings?

I love how happy everyone seems at weddings. I love how every wedding is different, and I love being a part of the day most people think and dream about their whole lives.

What do you hate about weddings?

N/A

What is your favorite memory from a wedding – good, bad or funny?

One time during the reception: the bride, who was dancing, fell on the groom and he fell on the grandpa who fell on the grandma, it was like a domino effect. Real funny!

What are you reading right now?

Right now I am reading Blue Like Jazz.

What are you listening to right now?

The new Angels and Airwaves album. I seem to not be able to get away from Tom Delonge’s voice.

What would you do with $1 million dollars?

Give it away or invest it. I’m torn between those two options whenever asked this question.

One goal you have for 2008:

To be the best at whatever comes my way next. Every year is different and I’m learning to take it one day at a time. Oh yea, and book a lot of weddings!

Open mic, final thoughts:

If I were you I’d book me!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2008 1:30 pm

    Love the response to “Who Inspires You” –He is the best inspiration! My one and only regret from our wedding was not having a videographer. Don’t get me wrong, Millie’s shots are amazing, but I would have loved to hear the voices and music from that day. All of what I don’t remember I’ll never get back. So ladies, BOOK THIS GUY!!!!

  2. April 24, 2008 2:32 pm

    truth – the man has talent!

  3. katie permalink
    May 16, 2008 2:40 pm

    i stumbled upon monachetti while looking at all the different videographers around and i’ve got to say he’s definitely unique! i absolutely love his style. i could never afford him :-) but i did however find someone in salt lake city (where i live) who is amazing and i couldn’t be more thrilled about his work! his name is david ( montaukmotionpictures.com ) this guy and monachetti are the only 2 who seem to really have what i’m looking for!

  4. May 23, 2008 7:48 pm

    I agree, he’s fabulous!

  5. August 6, 2009 7:45 pm

    thanks very much for posting this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

